Brown School is situated on Avenue Road just south of St. Clair Avenue. The first school was built in 1910 and was replaced with a new building in 1972. Brown celebrated its 100th anniversary in 2010. For a century, Brown School has had a tradition of strong academic achievement and close relationships with our families and community. Our staff is a team of dedicated teachers and support staff who bring unique talents to our classrooms, along with many co-curricular activities. Each child is encouraged to strive for academic excellence while also adding balance to the day by pursuing an interest or talent from an extensive number of activities that are offered.
As originally published by Brown Junior Public School
Casa Loma is named after the famous castle. The image of a castle atop the Avenue Road Hill, surrounded by ravines, large old trees, joggers and BMWs is an eclectic mix, considering the neighbourhood is located close to downtown Toronto. In the late nineteenth century South Hill, also in this area, became home to some of the wealthiest citizens of Toronto. They built a series of manors along the top of the hill. The area was annexed to the city of Toronto in a series of sections beginning in 1905. It has remained an expensive residential area, though most of the manors have today either been demolished or converted to other uses. The area is dominated by the steep hill of the former Lake Iroquois shoreline. The southeastern section of South Hill is known as Rathnelly.View Neighbourhood