John English School is located on Mimico Avenue, east of Royal York Road. The original school, a one-room brick building, opened in 1884 and moved, after a series of renovations and rebuilding, into the former Mimico High School building in 1993. The auditorium, cafeteria, gymnasium, and other specialized areas are shared with the Community School. John English serves over 825 students representing many language groups. John English offers programs in English (Junior Kindergarten to Grade 8), French Immersion (Senior Kindergarten-Grade 8) and Extended French (Grade 4 to 8).
As originally published by John English Junior Middle School
Mimico is the oldest of the former Lakeshore Municipalities. The Town of Mimico was established by a plan of sub-division in 1856. Today, Mimico is primarily a residential area with two commercial strips. Architecturally, homes in Mimico range from grand lakeside estates to bungalows built in the 1920s to 1940s, and low rise apartment buildings built in the 1950s and 1960s.View Neighbourhood