Ossington/Old Orchard Public School, fondly known as OOOPS,
is located southwest of College Street and Ossington Avenue.
In 1957, Old Orchard
School was opened; a
year later a second
constructed, called New
Orchard School. In
1961, the two schools
were separated and the
New Orchard School
was renamed Ossington
Public School. In 1973,
enrolment, the two
schools were merged
again as Ossington/Old
Orchard Public School.
OOOPS offers many opportunities for students to discover
and explore a variety of interests. A strong curriculum
delivery is enhanced by many extra-curricular athletic
activities including baseball, basketball, soccer,
cross-country, flag football, volleyball and Track & Field.
Students can also join the primary and junior choirs, chess
club and eco-club.
As originally published by Ossington/Old Orchard Junior Public School
The neighbourhood takes its name from Trinity Bellwoods Park, built around the former Garrison Creek ravine. This park was the original site of Trinity College, one of the colleges that now make up the University of Toronto. Today the only remaining artifacts of the school are its restored gates at the south end of the park. By 1900, the college and its picturesque surroundings attracted residential development. Most of the surrounding streets were filled in with tall, narrow houses of the Bay-and-Gable or Gothic Revival style characteristic of much of Toronto's housing stock from that era. A number of fine homes from the period are scattered throughout the neighborhood.View Neighbourhood